Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood:

7:33 a.m. - 07/15/2008
Monday at the Zoo with the lions and tigers
So yesterday I skipped work to go volunteer at the zoo an extra day since the normal Monday volunteer is out of town. Isn't it amazing how picking up after lions and tigers is so much more apealing to me than coming into HUD. And yesterday was less than glamourous between it raining in the morning and the yards being all gross and muddy when I cleaned them up, and the two dead birds I found in the yards, and having to clean up Gunter's vomit from all over his cage, in addition to the normal waste that I have to pick up. But you know what I still enjoyed myself.
I never worte about the baby bird from a couple weeks ago. I was cleaning the yards and this baby bird was in one of the moats barely hanging on to its life. It was trying to float and keep its head out of the water but you could tell it was struggling and I saved it and we moved it outside of the cat yards so it wouldn't become a lion's midmorning snack.
Oh on another note Naba has replaced Luke as my favorite lion. She really responds to me. My mom thinks it's because she thinks I'll make a tasty snack, but I think otherwise. Yesterday when she was being shifted inside, I was in the cage next to hers cleaning up the mess that Luke had made, and instead of running into her cage to get the tasty bunny that was waiting for her, she ran behind the cage I was in. I said hello to her and she just stayed there. She would not shift into her cage. The keeper even went so far as to call her by her full name which is Nababiep, which I thought was cute, because it was like speaking to a child in a stern tone and calling them by their full name to let them know that they are really in trouble and you mean business, only she was doing it wiht a 400 pound lion. And I don't think the lion was phased by the full name thing. But anyway I finally offered to stand in front of Naba's cage to see if she would go into it then, and lo and behold when she saw me and I called her she came running inside of her own cage. This isn't the first time something like that has happened, and it always makes me happy to know that she recognizes me and reponds to me like that.
Oh on another note I think I have finally mastered the art of telling the tigers apart without question. It was easy with the lions because I like them better, but yesterday I was standing in front of Melati and Tiffany's (Btw Tiff's real name is maharani but for some reason which I still don't understand the keepers call her Tiffany) cage and I knew which one was which.
Well anyway unfortunately today is a HUD day so I must get to 'work.'

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!