Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood:

12:37 p.m. - 07/25/2008
When did I become a grown up?
I sometimes wonder if I'll ever see myself as an "adult." I mean technically I am an adult. I have a full time job, I have my own apartment. I pay bills. I'm responsible for my own life. Etc etc. But I don't feel like I am. I just got off the phone with a coworker who was trying to find me in the HUD locater and couldn't, and she said she thought maybe I got married and they had me listed by my maiden name in the locator and thats why she couldn't find me, and I cringed a little bit. "Me married? I'm way to young for that." I thought. But then I realized I'm not. My mom was married and divorced by my age. I know tons of people my age or younger who are married or have been married, some with kids. But to me, I'm still way too young for all of that. I also still feel like the 'intern' here at HUD. And it throws me off when somone like Vickie, our program attorney calls me about a question she has, instead of calling Virginia or Regina. Yeah sure, I know the answer, in fact it's my assignment she's asking about which is why she called me, but I still have this feeling of "shouldn't you be talking to the real emplyees, not the summer intern about this policy stuff."

When did this happen? When did I become old enough to have kids and get married and live on my own and pay my own bills and talk program policy with OCI's program attorney?

I guess sometime between graduating from college, becoming full time at HUD, and moving out of my mom's house I became a young urban professional. I think I may have been to busy going to Happy hour with my other yuppie friends (who were once my HS freinds) after work to notice the transition though lol.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!