Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood:

9:03 a.m. - 12/29/2008
Ethical Dilemma
Me and my passion for animal rights is gonna keep me poor forever. So i've been wrestling with this ethical dilemma for a couple of weeks now. I have the opportunity to work as an animal caretaker in a lab making $5000 more a year and working closer to home. The problem of course is the whole animal testing lab thing. How can I who goes to protests against the Mars company and other companies that test on animals work in a lab? Even if I'm not doing tests myself, and even if I'm making sure the animals are treated nicely, i'm supporting the idea that it is okay to test out new drug treatments on animals. And it's not. I hate this because I could really use the increase in pay right now, but I can't sell my soul for extra money. I would hate myself. Or I'd be tempted to free all the aniamls and take them home wiht me.
The problem is that I need to break into the animal feild, and this would help somewhat. i can't keep working at HUD, otherwise i'll end up stuck here. But I guess when you really think about it how would it look to have that on my resume when i'm applying for a job to help animals. I've just got to keep my fingers crossed and hope that one of my applications to the zoo gets picked up. I've also decided that if for some reason my plans to move to FL fall through after my lease is up, I'm moving back in wiht my mother. I need to save my money, and that's the best way to do it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!