Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood:

4:04 p.m. - 04/17/2009
Sad GLT news
So I'm very sad to report that the mother glt, Laranja, from that free ranging family that I used to watch died this weekend due to complications during childbirth. It's so sad becasue spending so much time recording the family's behavior I feel like I got to know her personality a bit, and I can't imagine hwo the family is going to function without her. Poor Eduardo (her mate). GLTs mate for life, so I wonder if they find a new mate when theirs dies or if they just live alone for the rest of their own life. Anyway, it was clear that she ran everything. Her long calls signaled the family to tell them where and when they were going to cross over to a differnt set of trees, when feeding time was, everything. But at least she did have 4 sets of twins that survived, so her genetic line will be well represented.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!