Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood:

1:13 p.m. - 07/09/2009
why does the government get to decide what drugs i'm allowed to put into MY body?
Today I'm in an all around crummy mood, so here are more complaints. Who the hell is the governemnt to determine what substances I can and cannot put into my body? The whole concept of illegal drugs is utterly ridiculous. If i want to fuck up my life getting addicted to drugs, then let me do it. If the drugs cause me to commit a crime then arrest me and send me to jail. ut dont arrest me for doing the drugs in the first place. it's my body, it should be my choice of what to do to it. The concept of prescriptions is stupid too. If I choose to stupidly abuse medicine then thats my problem. Put the warnings on the labels and let adults make their own decisions about what to do with their own bodies. There's no reason a doctor should have to write a presciption. Wouldnt it be easier to say you have such and such, go to the drugstore and pick up some _____ to treat it. I guess they dont want people self medicating or overdosing, but again put the proper labels and warnings on the medicine and if people choose not to follow them and die or get sick, that's there fault. The government has no business deciding what I can or can't do with my body. It's so frickin annoying.
Why all the complaints? For starters, I can't afford psychiatric care right now. So I can't pay over $100 per visit just to ave a doctor write me a prescription for antidepressants. And becasue of this I have to go without them. As a former taker of anti depressants I know exactly what kind I should take and what dosage, and I know what they do to me. I should be able to pick some up from the store without needed a prescription to help me cope with this crummy life.
I'd also like to get my hands on a regular source of vicodin. So waht if its addictive and supposed does all this bad stuff. It is one of the few things that knocks away my depression immediately. I feel happy and giddy when I take it, and I can still function normally. So why the hell sjouldnt I be able to take it whenever I feel as crappy as I did today. (pre vicodin. Now I feel much better) Why the hell can I only get a prescription of it from a doctor if I've undergone extreme physical pain. Why can't I get it for my emotional pain as well?
As far as plain old illegal drugs, who is the government to say that these drugs are illegal? Again wiyth them telling me what I can and can't put into my body. As most of you know I'm not really into those kinds of drugs and have only tried one kind of illegal drug, but if I want to snort coke for a quick pick me up, or smoke pot to help me sleep better, or get rid of a hangover, then I should be able to.
I do think that the government should regualte how the drugs are made, so that you're actually getting waht you pay for, and so that the integrity of the drug isnt compromised or lethal chemicals arent used to substitute for the more expensive ones required.

That's all. I'm just annoyed by the whole situation.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!