Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood:

3:57 p.m. - 10/27/2009
I <3 PETA's DC Team
I absolutely love, love, love, love the fact that PETA has a DC office now, and that I can participate in animal rights demonstrations almost daily. It really makes me feel like I'm making a differnce. I like the fact that most of the campaigning is postive,and involves things like giving out free food. I just feel sooo passionately about the animal rights cause, and I'm glad that I'm no longer just sitting on all of this passion because I have no one to leaflet with me. Tonight PETA volunteers (male) are running in this drag queen race in Dupont Circle to show that "FUR is a drag." The females such as myself are going to help them get ready, cheer them on and pass out leaflets. It's funny how my dedication to the cuase has grown over the years. Initially it wasn't very strong and i would waver and go back to eating chicken or fish sometimes, but those things dont even tempt me anymore. I have been completely meat free for almost 3 years straight now. When I look at a hamburger or any other meat products, it actually makes me really sad. I see the beautiful living creature that it used to be. I know it's kind of crazy, but I don't care, its just how I am. I've even almost made a full transition to veganism. i no longer eat eggs, drink milk, or use certain other dairy products like butter, sour cream, mayo, etc. Of course the one thing holding me back is cheese, since I love it so much. But I've decreased my cheese consumption by about 60% so I'm almost there, it's just going to take time to get my tastebuds used to soy cheese instead of the real deal. I mean nothing happens overnight, look at how long it took for me to actually forget what real meat tastes like. Which I realized the other day when i bought my mom and brother some vegan drumsticks because i tasted them and thought they tasted exactly like chicken and that they would love them. Turns out they taste nothing like chicken. Oh well, they ate them anyway, as they do most of the aniaml friendly meat subsitutes I make them eat.

Anyway so this week's agenda includes theat drag race tonight, giving away tofurky sandwiches on thursday during lunch, giving away veggie dogs friday evening, and another fur demo on Halloween to show that fur is dead. There's a vegan drumstick giveaway tomorrow that i unfortunately wont be able to attend. But the reason i cant attend is awesome. Wednesday is my normal zoo day, and our fishing cat Izaak is getting an exam, which I get to observe! I'm so excited about it!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!