Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood: empathetic

12:29 p.m. - 06/07/2008
I thought indentured servitude was a thing of the past
I just thought I'd take the time to say how thankful I am to have been raised my mom. Yes, there were some rough times growing up, and we argued constantly, and I thought she was being the most unfair person in the entire world, but now that I'm older I realize how great she was. And we're so close now, we talk all the time, she's like one of my best friends.

I was just thinking about this because poor jasmine is stuck living with my grandmother who treats her like a slave. Now to be fair my grandmother did save her and TJ from a very bad situation, but the girl is 17 years old, she just graduated from High school, she's about to go off to college, and my grandmother won't let her go anywhere on her own. she won't let her go to any graduation parties. She won't let her go out with her friends. She barely lets her go out with me anymore since she read Jasmine's e-mail and found out that lala was sneakeing her to see her bf. (Lucky for me jasmine and I talk through facebook, which grandma knows nothing about so I'm still on her good side) All of my aunts say that jasmine just needs to leave. Grandma will yell, but that's about it. And grandma is already treating her like she is on punishment so why not do something to actualy get punished for. TJ just goes out whenever he wants to, and grandma yells, but that's about it. Poor jasmine doesn't want to get yelled at or get in trouble, so she won't do it, but the whole situation is crazy and she needs to. it doesn't make any sense that the summer before she goes off to college she's not spending as much time as possible with her friends. I don't know what I would have done if my mom didn't let me go to all the parties, or 3 am drives to ihop with stephanie and duffie, or midnight trips to silver diner with the mcrg, etc.
I just wish there was more that I could do to help the poor girl. I called grandma to se f she could hang out with me today and grandma said no, and when I told Jasmine, she just burst into tears. So tajuana and lori, and me were all telling her to just leave and go out and have fun, but she keeps saying she doesn't want to get in trouble. and its just terrible, because she really is a good child, yeah she's a little sneaky sometimes, but here she has 3 adults, 4 if you inlcude my mother who has told her before to do it, telling her to ignore her gaurdian and just go out and have fun because they all went through it too being raised by grandma (with the exception of me) and this wonderful girl won't do it. Instead she's gong to stay in the house and be treated like a prisoner. Well as luck would have it, grandma got all worked up about tajuana and as a result agreed to let jasmine come out with me in order to get her away from tajauana.

the thing about it is that when you have kids who are genuinely good, and who just do the occasional sneaky act, as most teenagers do, you need to trust them. my mom, and the other mcrg parents did that with us, and because we were given so much freedom and had our parents trust we were less inclined to go out and act stupid. Up until senior year of high school we didn't drink. I actually remember going to this party and we called the kids that were drinking losers. We all go good grades and took our academics seriously. I did skip school a lot senior year but it wasn't to partake in delinquent activities, it was because of my depression. I mean for goodness sake I skipped school alone, and spent my time up at starbucks reading or writing. Those are hardly the delinquent activities that people think of when they think of kids skipping school. yeah I was a little bit of a whore, but that's about the worst thing. Jasmine on the other hand, not a whore at all, just a little bit of a player lol, made good grades, takes care of the house, is pretty much grandma's personal slave, actually more like indentured servant, she's very respectful, does what she's told. So why is my grandmother treating her like she's the worst person in the world and completley untrustworthy?

Actually grandma does it to everybody. Thank god I wasn't raised by her, but even so, on more than one occasion when I was growing up, she made me cry. Always accusing me of being pregnant and on drugs. it was like, no grnadma, I'm not pregnant, I'm just fat. thanks for pointing it out. No grandma, I'm not a pot head, in case you haven't noticed by the scars on my arms and legs I suffer from major depressive episodes, and anxiety attacks so I'm all drugged up on SSRIs and antianxiety agents. Thanks for reminding me I'm crazy. But anyway the point is you just got to learn not to let it get to you. I still feel bad for the poor girl. At least in a few months she'll be off at college and she won't have to deal with it anymore

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!