Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Currently listening to:

Current Mood:

5:21 p.m. - 07/28/2008
Good things come to those who wait?
You always hear the phrase 'good things come to those who wait.' And I try to live my life by that philosophy. As much as it kills me sometimes I try to be patient for the most part. Of course there are times where that impulse control disorder thing gets the best of me and I do something stupid, or react to soon, or make the wrong assumption and it pretty much just ends with me looking like an ass. So again, that's the reason why I try to live my life by that philosophy. And it has proven true in the past. I was patient and waited and eventually got waht I wanted. Take my renewed relationship with Duffie. Hell I wanted that since the day he disappeared back in 2003, but once we got back into contact in 2006, I didn't rush things. I played it cool and was patient and eventually he invited me down to visit, and told me that he was still in love with me. Of course that didn't have the happy ending I would have liked it to have had, but we had a good year of almost romance that I wouldn't trade for anything.
But anyway, my point is that I'm trying to live by that philosophy now, but I can't help but wonder if maybe sometimes, good things don't come to those who wait, instead they get forgotten about and end up with nothing. Like isn't it true that a person who applys for a job and then calls repeatedly to check on the status draws more attention to themselves thereby making their resume and name stand out of the stack, as opposed to the person who just patiently waits for them to call her back because she's afraid of being a nuisance? SO there's my delimma. Do I sit around and wait, or do I actively go out and do something to acheive my goal at the risk of being a nuisance? The thing is that the thought of being forgotten makes me sick to my stomach, but the thought of being a nuisance does the same, and I can't tell which one makes me feel worse, so I don't know waht to do.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!